Skip to main content

Prevention of Men’s Violence against Women Champion’s Committee

Committee Description:

Prevention of Men’s Violence Against Women Champion’s Committee was designed to help create a cultural shift in the way we think about, talk about and act around sexual violence by doing two things:

  1. Establishing a sense of ownership of the problem among everyone.
  2. Providing tips, tools, and inspiration to empower everyone to make a difference, every day.

Committee Goals:  

  1. To utilize social capital in an effort to reduce stigma and establish a call to action among students, faculty and staff in an effort to prevent campus sexual assault.
  2. To align Georgia Southern University sexual assault prevention and awareness messaging with recommended national tool kits.
  3. To promote awareness for future SART Campaigns.

Georgia Southern University’s Champions:

Name Department
Adrian Peterson Athletics
Francisco Lugo Greek Life
Jahmal Rainey Student Services Center-COB
Jeff Yawn Eagle Dining Services
George Fredrick ROTC
Phil Gore Office of Military and Veterans Affairs
Casey Weaver Dean of Students
Charlie Bowen University Police Department
President Elect Student Government Association
Gene Sherry Campus Recreation & Intramurals
Mark Whitesel Dean of Students
Ken Gassiot Associate VP of Student Engagement/Enrollment Management
Spencer Demink Executive Vice President – Armstrong Campus
Peter Egede National Pan-Hellenic Council President

Sponsoring Departments: Sexual Assault Response Team (SART) and Student Wellness & Health Promotion

Last updated: 8/19/2020