Community Resources

Attention-Deficit /Hyperactivity Disorder

ADDitude https://www.additudemag.com/

CHADD www.chadd.org

Autism

Autism Society https://www.autism-society.org/

Autism Speaks https://www.autismspeaks.org/

Autistic Self Advocacy Network https://autisticadvocacy.org/

College Autism Network  https://collegeautismnetwork.org/

Matthew Reardon Center for Autism https://matthewreardon.org/

Blindness/ Low Vision

American Federation for the Blind https://www.afb.org/

Georgia Lions Lighthouse https://lionslighthouse.org/

National Federation of the Blind https://nfb.org/

National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped https://loc.gov/programs/national-library-service-for-the-blind-and-physically-handicapped/about-this-service/?cid=loc-ppc_s=google_c=audiobook_ag=visually-impaired_kw=audio-books-for-visually-impaired

Prevent Blindness https://www.preventblindness.org/

Savannah Center for Blindness and Low Vision https://savannahcblv.org/

Brain Injury

Brain Injury Association of America https://www.biausa.org/

Brain Injury Association of Georgia https://braininjurygeorgia.org/

Shepherd Center Spinal Cord and Brain Injury Rehabilitation

https://www.shepherd.org/

Chronic Medical

American Cancer Society  https://www.cancer.org/cancer.html

American Diabetes Association  http://www.diabetes.org/

American Heart Association https://www.heart.org/

American Lung Association https://www.lung.org/

Arthritis Foundation https://www.arthritis.org/

Christopher and Dana Reeve Foundation https://www.christopherreeve.org/

Centers for Disease Control  https://www.cdc.gov/

Endometriosis Association https://endometriosisassn.org/

Epilepsy Foundation of GA epilepsyga.org

Lupus Foundation of America https://www.lupus.org/

National Organization of Rare Disorders  https://rarediseases.org/

National Institutes of Health https://www.nih.gov/

National Multiple Sclerosis Society  https://www.nationalmssociety.org/

National Scoliosis Foundation http://www.scoliosis.org/

National Stroke Association https://www.stroke.org/

Sickle Cell Foundation of Georgia http://sicklecellga.org/

United Cerebral Palsy of GA https://ucpga.org/ 

Employment

Georgia Vocational Rehabilitation Agency https://gvs.georgia.gov/

Job Accommodation Network askjan.org/

Occupational Outlook Handbook  https://www.bls.gov/ooh/

United States Department of Labor Office of Disability Employment https://www.dol.gov/odep/

United States Office of Personnel Management Disability Employment   https://www.opm.gov/policy-data-oversight/disability-employment/

Hearing and Speech

GA Council for the Hearing Impaired www.gachi.org/about-us

GA Southern University Rite Care Center for Communication Disorders https://chp.georgiasouthern.edu/rehabilitation/centers-and-labs/ritecare-center-for-communication-disorders/

Georgia Lions Lighthouse https://lionslighthouse.org/

Savannah Speech and Hearing speechandhearingsav.org

HIV/ AIDS

ADAP Directory of AIDS Drug Assistance Programs http://adap.directory/

Chatham Care Center / Chatham Co Health Department  https://www.chathamsafetynet.org/healthcare/hiv/the-chatham-care-center/

Greater Than AIDS https://www.greaterthan.org/

Independent Living / Transition

EasterSeals http://www.easterseals.com/southerngeorgia/

Living Independence for Everyone www.lifecil.com

Chatham –Savannah Citizen Advocacy https://www.savannahcitizenadvocacy.org/

Savannah- Chatham Council on Disability Issues https://www.savannahchathamdisability.org/

Tools for Life https://gatfl.gatech.edu/

U.S. Department of Education: Students With Disabilities Preparing for Postsecondary Education https://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/transition.html

Georgia Tech Center for Inclusive Design and Innovation https://www.amacusg.gatech.edu/

Learning Disabilities

Learning Ally https://learningally.org/

Learning Disabilities Association of America   https://ldaamerica.org/adults/

National Center for Learning Disabilities https://www.ncld.org/

Georgia Southern University Regents Center for Learning Disorders https://academics.georgiasouthern.edu/rcld/

Mental Health

Active Minds https://www.activeminds.org/

Bulloch County Alcohol and Drug Council  https://bullochadc.org/

Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance  https://secure2.convio.net/dabsa/site/SPageServer/?pagename=home

Fraser Counseling Center https://www.frasercenter.com/index.php/en/

GA Crisis Access Line mygcal.com

Gateway Mental Health https://www.gatewaybhs.org/

Georgia Southern Counseling Center https://students.georgiasouthern.edu/counseling/

Heads Up Guidance Services http://www.headsupsavannah.org/

Johnny’s Bridges to Hope – St Joseph’s Candler  https://www.sjchs.org/in-the-community/johnnys-bridges-to-hope

Pineland Behavioral Health http://pinelandcsb.org/

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)   https://www.samhsa.gov/

Medicaid /  Medicare / Health Insurance

Bulloch County Division of Family and Children Services

https://dfcs.georgia.gov/location/bulloch-county

Chatham County Division of Family and Children Services

https://dfcs.georgia.gov/location/chatham-county

Georgia Department of Public Health  Children’s Medical Services https://www.gachd.org/programs-services/child-health-services/childrens_medical_services/

Georgia Division of Family and Children Services Medicaid

https://dfcs.georgia.gov/medicaid

Georgiagov https://georgia.gov/popular-topic/medicaid

Georgia Department of Community Health Peachcare for Kids

https://dch.georgia.gov/peachcare-kids

HHS.gov Who is Eligible for Medicare? https://www.hhs.gov/answers/medicare-and-medicaid/who-is-elibible-for-medicare/index.html

Liberty County of Family and Children Services

https://dfcs.georgia.gov/location/liberty-county

USG Student Health Insurance Plans https://auxiliary.georgiasouthern.edu/healthservices/insurance/

Medication Access

Medbank https://www.medbank.org/

Walmart Pharmacy $4 Prescriptions https://www.walmart.com/cp/$4-prescriptions/1078664

Kroger Pharmacy $4 Prescriptions https://www.wttfoa.org/uploads/5/4/3/0/54308893/kroger_4genericlist.pdf

Recreation

AMBUCS https://ambucs.org/

GA State Golf Association Adaptive Golf Program https://www.gsga.org/support/adaptive-golf-program

Faith Equestrian Therapeutic Center https://www.faithetc.org/

National Wheelchair Basketball Association https://www.nwba.org/

Wheelchair Jimmy http://wheelchairjimmy.com/savannahga/things-to-do/

Social Security

Social Security Administration  https://www.ssa.gov

Transportation

Chatham Area Transit- Getting Around with a Disability http://www.catchacat.org/getting-around/with-a-disability/

Wheel Chair Traveling http://wheelchairtraveling.com/

United Way

United Way of the Coastal Empire 211 https://www.uwce.org/about-us/counties/

United Way of Southeast Georgia http://www.unitedwaysega.org/

Veterans

Disabled American Veterans https://www.dav.org/

Disabled National Veterans Foundation  https://dvnf.org/

Georgia Department of Veterans Service https://veterans.georgia.gov/state-benefits

Georgia Veterans Education Career Transition Resource Center http://www.gavectr.org/

Student Veterans of America https://studentveterans.org/

Georgia Southern University Military Resource Center https://students.georgiasouthern.edu/military/

K9 Battle Buddies Service Dogs for Veterans http://www.k9bb.org/home.html

Wounded Warrior Project  https://support.woundedwarriorproject.org

Last updated: 6/6/2019

Student Accessibility Resource Center – Statesboro • PO Box 8037 • (912) 478-1566 • sarcboro@georgiasouthern.edu

Student Accessibility Resource Center – Savannah/Liberty • 11935 Abercorn Street • (912) 344-2572 • sarcsav@georgiasouthern.edu