Skip to main content

LGBTQIA+ and/or Gender & Sexual Minority Concerns

Advocacy & Resources

American Psychological Association: http://www.apa.org/pi/lgbt/programs/index.aspx

Amnesty International: http://www.amnestyusa.org/our-work/issues/lgbt-rights/pride-month

Family Equality Council: http://www.familyequality.org/

Gay, Lesbian, & Straight Education Network (GLSEN): http://www.glsen.org/

Georgia Equality: http://georgiaequality.org/

Get Real (Sex Education): www.getrealeducation.org

Human Rights Campaign (federal level): https://www.hrc.org/news/p31?topic=federal-advocacy

Human Rights Campaign (local & state level): http://www.hrc.org/topics/state-advocacy

It Gets Better Project: http://www.itgetsbetter.org/

It’s Pronounced Metrosexual: www.itspronouncedmetrosexual.com

Lambda Legal: http://www.lambdalegal.org/

Matthew Shepard Foundation: http://www.matthewshepard.org/

National Black Justice Coalition: http://nbjc.org/

National Center for Transgender Equality: http://transequality.org/

National LGBTQ Task Force: http://www.thetaskforce.org/

The Safe Zone Project: http://thesafezoneproject.com/

Straight for Equality: http://www.straightforequality.org/

Transgender Law Center: http://transgenderlawcenter.org/

The Williams Institute: http://williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu/

Allyship

GLAAD: http://www.glaad.org/resources/ally

GSA Network: https://www.gsanetwork.org/resources/creating-inclusive-gsas/straight-allies

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/allies

Straight for Equality: http://www.straightforequality.org/allyspectrum

TransWhat?: www.transwhat.org

Children & Youth

American Psychological Association: http://www.apa.org/about/gr/issues/lgbt/student-non-discrimination-brief.pdf

Georgia Safe Schools Coalition: http://www.georgiasafeschoolscoalition.org/

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/lgbtq-youth

JustUsAtlanta (ages 13-28): http://justusatl.org/

Trans Youth Family Allies: http://www.imatyfa.org/

College & Young Adult

Campus Pride: http://www.campuspride.org/

Human Rights Campaign: http://www.hrc.org/topics/campus-young-adult

JustUsAtlanta (ages 13-28): http://justusatl.org/

LGBTQ college guide: http://www.affordablecollegesonline.org/lgbtq-college-student-guide/

Coming Out

AVERTing HIV and AIDS: http://www.avert.org/coming-out.htm

Empty Closets: http://emptyclosets.com/home/pages/resources/coming-out/stages-of-coming-out.php

Human Rights Campaign: http://www.hrc.org/campaigns/coming-out-center

National Resource Center on LGBT Aging: http://www.lgbtagingcenter.org/resources/resources.cfm?s=31

Psychology Today: https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/gay-and-lesbian-well-being/201103/should-you-come-out-your-parents

R U Coming Out: http://www.rucomingout.com/

The Trevor Project: https://www.thetrevorproject.org/resources/guide/the-coming-out-handbook/

Cyberbullying

Affordable Colleges Online: http://www.affordablecollegesonline.org/college-resource-center/cyberbullying-awareness/

Gender Identity

American Psychological Association: http://www.apa.org/topics/lgbt/transgender.aspx

Genderqueer Identities: http://genderqueerid.com/

Transcending Gender Project: http://www.transcendinggender.org/

Hate Crimes

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/hate-crimes

The Leadership Conference: https://civilrights.org/2009/06/23/lgbt-hate-crimes-hit-a-high-federal-law-needed/

Matthew Shepard Project: https://www.matthewshepard.org/what-we-do/eliminating-hate-crimes/

Health & Aging

American Psychological Association: http://www.apa.org/about/gr/issues/lgbt/disparities-brief.pdf

American Society on Aging: LGBT Aging Issues Network: https://www.asaging.org/education-topic/lgbtq-aging

Gay and Lesbian Medical Association: http://www.glma.org/_data/n_0001/resources/live/HealthyCompanionDoc3.pdf

The Health Initiative: http://thehealthinitiative.org/

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/health-aging

National Coalition for LGBT Health: http://www.healthhiv.org/sites-causes/national-coalition-for-lgbt-health/

National Resource Center on LGBT Aging: https://www.lgbtagingcenter.org/

Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion: 

http://www.healthypeople.gov/2020/topics-objectives/topic/lesbian-gay-bisexual-and-transgender-health?topicid=25

World Professional Association for Transgender Health: http://www.wpath.org/

HIV & AIDS

AVERTing HIV and AIDS: http://www.avert.org/

HIV Prevention Justice Alliance: http://www.preventionjustice.org/

Health HIV: http://www.healthhiv.org/

Health Resources and Services Administration: http://www.hab.hrsa.gov/

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/hiv-aids

National Alliance of State & Territorial AIDS Directors: http://www.nastad.org/

Immigration

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/immigration-refugee-and-asylum

Immigration Equality: http://www.immigrationequality.org/

International 

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/international

Legal

American Civil Liberties Union: https://www.aclu.org/issues/lgbt-rights?redirect=lgbt-rights

The Gay Law Report: http://www.galperlaw.com/gay-law-report/

Immigration Equality: http://www.immigrationequality.org/

Lambda Legal: http://www.lambdalegal.org/about-us/contact-us

Stonewall Bar Association of Georgia: http://www.stonewallbar.org/

Transgender Law Center: http://transgenderlawcenter.org/

Lesbian

Lesbian.com: http://www.lesbian.com/

Lesbian.org: http://lesbian.org/

National Center for Lesbian Rights: http://www.nclrights.org/

Marriage

American Psychological Association: http://www.apa.org/about/gr/issues/lgbt/marriage-equality.pdf

EnGAYed Weddings: http://www.engaygedweddings.com/

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/marriage

News

The Advocate: http://www.advocate.com/

Georgia Voice: http://thegavoice.com/

Parenting

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/parenting

Pride Events

August Pride: http://www.augustapride.com/

Atlanta Pride: https://www.atlantapride.org/

In the Life Atlanta (Atlanta Black Gay Pride): www.facebook.com/inthelifeatl

International: http://www.interpride.org/

National Calendar: http://www.gaypridecalendar.com/

Savannah Pride: http://savannahpride.com/

PFLAG (Parents, Families, & Friends of LGBT+ people)

Atlanta: http://www.pflagatl.org/

Macon: http://www.pflagmacon.org/

Marietta: https://pflag.org/chapter/pflag-marietta

National: https://pflag.org/

Privilege

Cisgender Privilege

Heterosexual Privilege

Religion

The Episcopal Church: http://www.episcopalchurch.org/page/lgbt-church

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/religion-faith

The Not All Like That Christians Project: http://www.notalllikethat.org/taking-god-at-his-word-the-bible-and-homosexuality/

Pew Research Center: http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2015/03/18/where-christian-churches-stand-on-gay-marriage/

Presbyterian Church (USA): http://oga.pcusa.org/section/ga/ga221/ga221-marriage/

Soul Force: http://soulforce.org

United Church of Christ: http://www.ucc.org/lgbt

Sexual Orientation

American Psychological Association: http://www.apa.org/topics/lgbt/orientation.aspx

American Psychiatric Association: http://www.psychiatry.org/lgbt-sexual-orientation

Suicide Risk and Prevention

Suicide Prevention Resource Center: http://www.sprc.org/sites/sprc.org/files/library/SPRC_LGBT_Youth.pdf

The Trevor Project: http://www.thetrevorproject.org/

  • 24/7 Suicide Prevention Hotline: 866.488.7386

Terminology

American Psychological Association: http://www.apa.org/pi/lgbt/resources/sexuality-definitions.pdf

GLAAD: http://www.glaad.org/sites/default/files/allys-guide-to-terminology_1.pdf

It’s Pronounced Metrosexual: http://itspronouncedmetrosexual.com/2013/01/a-comprehensive-list-of-lgbtq-term-definitions/

Transgender

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/transgender

National Center for Transgender Equality: http://transequality.org/

Transgender Law Center: http://transgenderlawcenter.org/

Trans Lifeline: http://www.translifeline.org/

  • Trans Lifeline Hotline: 877.565.8860

Trans Student Educational Resources: http://transstudent.org/

Trans Youth Family Allies: http://www.imatyfa.org/

World Professional Association for Transgender Health: http://www.wpath.org/

Workplace

Human Rights Campaign: https://www.hrc.org/resources/workplace-discrimination-policies-laws-and-legislation

Out & Equal: Workplace Advocates: http://www.outandequal.org/

Last updated: 6/10/2022